Ad Widget

South Africa humbles Sri Lanka by 6 wickets on Anrich Nortje’s 4/7

Ad Widget

South Africa humbled Sri Lanka by a 6-wicket thrashing completing the demolition in just 16.2 overs for 80 for 4 having bundled out out the islanders for 77 with Anrich Nortje claiming an impeccable 4 for 7 in the fourth fixture of the ICC 2024 T20 World Cup yesterday on a surface unhelpful to batsmen with the boundaries difficult to penetrate at New York’s Nassau County International Cricket Stadium.

Lankan skipper Wanindu Hasaranga was quick to comment post-match that the tricky surface was confounding.

The South Africans though were made to tightrope it to negating early inroads by the Lankan bowlers losing Reeza Hendricks for with the score 10 when Nuwan Thushara had him caught by Kamindu Mendis for 4 off the third delivery operating the second over, and when Dasun Shanaka had South African captain Aiden Markram also held by Kamindu for 12 after 4.2 overs. The Lankan skipper accounted for the other two wickets in the space of 7 runs into the fifth delivery of the 13th over as Hasaranga caught and bowled Quinton de Kock for 20 off 27 with a six, and Tristan Stubbs 13 held by Asalanka having faced 28 deliveries without crossing the boundary. Heinrich Klaasen remained unbeaten on a 19 off 22 hitting a boundary and six to seeing South Africa through with David Miller on 6.

Nortje got into the act after Baartman triggered the rout reducing Sri Lanka to 1 for 3 sending back Pathum Nissanka for 3 (8b) caught by Klaasen, going on to account for Kamindu Mendis 11 (15b, 1×4) caught by Hendricks with the score on 31 after 7.5 overs as Sri Lanka lost the next 5 wickets for 14 runs. Nortje’s victims also included Kusal Mendis 19 (30b, 1×4), Charith Asalanka 6 and Angelo Mathews 16 with Maharaj in between accounting for Wanindu Hasaranga stumped second ball and Sadeera Samarawickrama very next ball for respective ducks as Sri Lanka tottered on 32 for 4 after 8.3.  Dasun Shanaka made 9.


Sri Lanka 77 (19.1 Overs) RR: 4.01

(Kusal Mendis 19 30 1, Angelo Mathews 16, Kamindu Mendis 11,

Maheesh Theekshana n.o. 7, Anrich Nortje 4/7, Kagiso Rabada 2/21, Keshav Maharaj 2/22, Ottnel Baartman 1/9)

South Africa 80/4 (16.2 Overs) RR:4.89

(Quinton de Kock 20, Heinrich Klaasen n.o. 19, Tristan Stubbs 13, David Miller n.o. 6, Wanindu Hasaranga 2/22, Dasun Shanaka 1/6, Nuwan Thushara 1/18)

Sources – Sl Cricket

Related Posts

Ad Widget

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *